23 out of 33 MCAs vote to impeach Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru

23 out of 33 MCAs have voted to impeach Kirinyaga Governor Anne Waiguru over gross-misconduct and abuse of office.

The motion had been filed by Mutira Ward MCA David Kinyua Wangui.

County Assembly Speaker Anthony Gathumbi announced the removal of Waiguru after the required majority voted on Tuesday afternoon.

Four members of the county assembly abstained while 4 others were absent.

Earlier, chaos erupted after two MCAs Anthony Munene (Karumandi ward) and Nominated MCA Lucy Njeri —who are allies of Governor Waiguru— were removed from the proceedings.

Governor Waiguru has since released a statement calling out the MCAs for what she termed as an ill-informed and ill-timed impeachment motion.

“As I have stated before, the issues raised in the motion are baseless and a waste of valuable time that would be better spent handling the serious issues impacting the county including the corona crisis,” she said on Tuesday.

She further reprimanded the county lawmakers citing the High Court order that barred proceedings at the Kirinyaga County Assembly with regards to the impeachment motion.

“For some inexplicable reason the members pushing this motion believe or have been led to believe that they are above the law, They believe they are not bound by court orders. Their allegiance seems to be a master pulling and pushing the levers from outside the county assembly and not to the rule of law,” she added.

Governor Waiguru warned that she would return to court to seek orders for contempt of court against the Kirinyaga County Assembly Speaker and all who participated in the vote for her ouster.

Credit: Source link