Aisha Jumwa, Chris Wamalwa among MPs to be dewhipped by NASA from parliamentary committees

he National Super Alliance (NASA) is set to de-whip a section of perceived rebel Members of Parliament (MPs) from National Assembly committees.

National Assembly Minority Whip Junet Mohamed, addressing the press on Wednesday, said the coalition parties will hold a Parliamentary Group meeting on Thursday where he will table the names of the errant legislators.

Kiminini MP Chris Wamalwa is set to be removed as Deputy Minority Whip while his Malindi counterpart Aisha Jumwa will lose her seat on the Parliamentary Service Commission (PSC).

Another 7 MPs will be removed from all committees, including: Sylvanus Osoro (South Mugirango), Nakara Lodepe (Turkana Central), Catherine Wambilianga (Bungoma Woman Rep.), Tindi Mwale (Butere), Vincent Kemosi (West Mugirango), Gideon Ochanda (Bondo).

Junet, who also doubles up as the Suna East MP, added that they “will also take thorough disciplinary action” with a keen interest on the “behavior of members who are not loyal to NASA.”

“These members we are removing have showed that they are no longer going to subscribe to NASA,” stated Junet.

“They have joined some groups hovering around town…some of them have been loitering around failing to attend committee meetings.”

The move by NASA – which is composed of ODM, Wiper, FORD Kenya and ANC – comes on the backdrop of a Jubilee Party clean up which saw vocal Elgeyo Markwet Senator Kipchumba Murkomen removed as Senate Majority Leader.

Political pundits however opine that, going by the list of leaders who have fallen victim to the purge, NASA and Jubilee might be going after Deputy President William Ruto’s allies.

Credit: Source link