Cape Verde include veteran quartet for AFCON

Cape Verde have named goalkeeper Vozinha and the attacking trio of DjaninyRyan Mendes and Julio Tavares in their squad for the Africa Cup of Nations.

The quartet competed for the Cape Verde at their two previous tournament appearances in 2013 and 2015 and were included again when the squad for next month’s tournament in Cameroon was announced on Thursday.

Coach Bubista also named 37-year-old midfielder Marco Soares in his 26-man squad. Soares won his first cap in 2006 and played at the 2013 finals, when the Cape Verdians were shock quarterfinalists, but was overlooked for the 2015 edition.

Cape Verde have been drawn in Group A with hosts Cameroon, Burkina Faso and Ethiopia.

Cape Verde AFCON squad

Goalkeepers: Marcio da Rosa (Montalegre), Keven Ramos (Mindelense), Vozinha (AEL Limassol).

Defenders: Diney Borges (Royal Armed Forces), Joao Paulo Fernandes (Feirense), Steven Fortes (Oostende), Jeffry Fortes (De Graafschap), Steve Furtado (Beroe Stara Zagora), Roberto Lopes (Shamrock Rovers), Ponck (Istanbul Basaksehir), Stopira (Fehervar), Dylan Tavares (Neuchatel Xamax).

Midfielders: Patrick Andrade (Qarabag), Nuno Borges (Casa Pia), Jamiro Monteiro (Philadelphia Union), Nenass (Aalesund), Kenny Rocha (Oostende), Marco Soares (Arouca).

Forwards: Djaniny (Trabzonspor), Willis Furtado (Jerv), Ryan Mendes (Al Nasr), Garry Rodrigues (Olympiakos), Lisandro Semedo (Fortuna Sittard), Willy Semedo (Pafos), Gilson Tavares (Estoril), Julio Tavares (Al Faisaly).

Credit: Source link