Gladys Wanga elected first Nyanza female governor

Homa Bay Woman Representative Gladys Wanga has made history by being elected the first female governor from Nyanza.

Ms Wanga emerged the winner in the tightly-contested gubernatorial race that initially had 10 aspirants before the number was reduced to three after other politicians withdrew from the contest after a consensus meeting in March. She was declared the winner this morning with 244,559 votes.

Her closest challenger, former Nairobi governor Evans Kidero got 154,182 votes. Mr Mark Raudi of United Democratic Alliance came third with 1,244 votes.

Ms Wanga thanked Homa Bay residents for believing in her.

“Azimio presidential running mate Martha Karua asked women to give me a chance and they have heeded that call,” Ms Wanga said after being declared the winner.

 Her journey to victory was, however, not easy.

 After being given the ODM certificate, the outgoing MP was tasked with the responsibility of campaigning for the Azimio la Umoja coalition party.

She headed the women’s campaign team alongside Kitui governor Charity Ngilu. But the tough opposition that Dr Kidero had put in Homa Bay prevented her from engaging in campaigns outside the county.

Homa Bay Governor-elect Gladys Wanga receives her certificate from County Returning Officer Fredrick Apopa on August 12, 2022. Looking on is her deputy Oyugi Magwanga.
George Odiwuor | Nation Media Group

She only accompanied Mr Raila Odinga in a few rallies before concentrating on her gubernatorial campaigns.

 “It’s a miracle, we never imagined it would happen,” she said after being declared the winner by Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission County Returning Officer Fredrick Apopa.

She extended an olive branch to Dr Kidero and promised to accommodate everyone in her government.

“We will deliver service to everyone. Whether you voted for us or not is no longer an issue,” Ms Wanga said.

She called for peace in Homa Bay and asked Dr Kidero to support her.

 Ms Wanga’s victory has made her go into history books as one of the female politicians in the country to break the glass ceiling even in areas that are perceived to be for men.

 Since joining active politics in 2013, Ms Wanga had set her eyes on bigger goals ahead.

Her victory has also reaffirmed her spirited efforts in working hard for leadership as she overcomes many odds to become a woman of firsts.

She became the first woman legislator to be elected as the chairperson of the Finance and Planning Committee in the National Assembly.

She had also served as a Commissioner in the Parliamentary Service Commission, making her the first woman commissioner from Nyanza.

In 2003, she became the first woman to be elected secretary-general of the students’ union at Kenyatta University. Within ODM, she became the first female county chairperson of the party.

In the 2017 General Election, she headed Mr Odinga’s Nyanza Presidential Campaign team.

Ms Wanga is among the leaders who spearheaded the formation of the Embrace Kenya movement to popularise the Building Bridges Initiative constitutional amendment Bill 2020.

She promised to transform the lives of Homa Bay residents, mainly farmers, youths and women through various economic empowerment programmes.

Her manifesto focuses on food security, improved and affordable healthcare, and water provision to families among other issues affecting residents of Homa Bay County.

“Our county has natural resources in abundance which my government will ensure are used to help residents. That includes pineapples in Kochia and sweet potatoes in Kabondo,” she said.

Part of her agenda for farmers is to provide subsidised inputs, hire more extension officers to offer advice to farmers, and establish industries for value addition among other ventures.

Other economic programmes in line are setting up revolving funds for boda boda riders and other groups to take up loans and start business ventures.

 “We promise to work tirelessly for our people from all carders and in all sectors,” she said.

Governor elections: List of winners

The final results for gubernatorial elections began streaming in on Thursday evening as tallying of votes continued at the IEBC county tallying centres across the country.

Here are the results for Governor elections that have so far been officially declared by the electoral commission.

Meru County: Independent candidate Kawira Mwangaza wins Meru Governor seat after garnering 209,148 votes.

Nyeri County: Mutahi Kahiga retains his seat as Nyeri Governor.

Kisii County: ODM’s Simba Arati declared winner of Kisii county Governor seat after garnering 270,928 votes beating Ezekiel Machogu of UDA party who got 82,104 votes.

Baringo Governor: Benjamin Cheboi (UDA) wins contest with 137,486 votes.

Kirinyaga County: Ann Waiguru (UDA) wins governor race with 113,088 votes; her  closest rival Wangui Ngirici  (Independent ) gets 105,677 votes.

Elgeyo Marakwet: Governor Wesley Rotich had 147,705 votes, while his main competitor, Anthony Chelimo got 11,759 votes.

Siaya County: James Orengo of ODM declared Governor-elect with 220,349 votes. He beat former Raireda MP Nicholas Gumbo of UDM, who scored 147,558.

Nyandarua County: Kiarie Badilisha wins Nyandarua Gubernatorial seat with 158, 263 votes. Incumbent Francis Kimemia emerged second with 52, 187 votes.

Bungoma County – First Governor Ken Lusaka (FORD-Kenya) makes comeback after defeating Wycliffe Wangamati (DAP-K). Lusaka garnered 241,695.

West Pokot County – UDA’s Simon Kachapin garnered 86,476 votes to trounce incumbent Governor John Lonyangapuo.

Busia County – ODM’s Paul Otuoma got 164,478 votes to clinch the seat. John Sakwa of ANC emerged  second with 92,144 votes.

Homa Bay County – ODM’s Gladys Wanga wins Homa Bay Governor seat with 244,559 votes; Independent candidate Evans Kidero second with 154,182 votes.

Migori County – ODM’s Ochilo Ayacko wins Migori Governor seat with 175,226 votes; DAP-K’s John Pesa comes second with 126,171 votes.

Nandi County – Stephen Kipyego Arap Sang (UDA) declared winner after getting 237,045 votes followed by former Governor Cleophas Lagat (Independent) with 54,375 votes.

Kisumu County – Prof. Anyang’ Nyong’o re-elected as Kisumu Governor after garnering 319,957; NDG’s Jack Ranguma comes second with 100,600 votes.

Uasin Gishu County: Jonathan Bii of UDA wins Uasin Gishu Governor seat with 214,036 edging Independent candidate Zedekiah Bundotich who garnered 127,013 votes.

More to follow…

Credit: Source link