Government shuts down 30 unregistered schools in Nakuru

The government has closed down 30 learning institutions in Nakuru Town West constituency for operating without Ministry of Education registration documents.

The move has affected some 1,000 pupils in nursery and primary schools.

Deputy County Commissioner Michael Lesimam asked parents to transfer the affected learners to nearby public schools.

“By not being registered means the institutions have not been captured in the National Education Management Information System and therefore the learners cannot be registered for national examinations,” Lesimam said.

The shut institutions are three primary schools and 27 early childhood development centres.

“Some of the schools were closed down in 2019 but reopened after they moved to court to challenge the decision. In 2020, the court ruled that the status quo be maintained meaning the schools are illegal,” said Lesimam.

He dismissed pleas by parents to allow the pupils continue with learning, saying it was better to address the problem now than wait until the matter gets out of hand.

Credit: Source link