It is ANC’s Peter Nabulindo for Matungu

ANC candidate Peter Nabulindo has won the Matungu by-election, beating 14 other aspirants, the polling agency has said.

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission Returning Officer John Kirui said Nabulindo garnered 14,257 votes, beating ODM’s David Were (10,565).

Speaking after he was declared winner, Nabulindo thanked voters for coming out to vote as well as party leader Musalia Mudavadi for his support.

All the 116 polling stations presented their results at the tallying centre at Bulimbo Primary School.

The race was hotly contested among 15 candidates. Matungu has 62,386 registered voters.

Matungu MP-elect Peter Nabulindo after he was declared winner at the Bulindo Primary School tallying centre on March 5, 2021. [Benjamin Sakwa, Standard].

Earlier, voting had been rocked by chaos and bribery claims over alleged election malpractice.

The race was considered a three-horse race between ANC, UDA and ODM.

Other candidates in the race like Charles Kasamani (United Democratic Party) had 120, Paul Achayo of Movement for Democracy and Growth (MDG) 121 and Faida Auma (Maendeleo Chap Chap) 221.

Independents candidates were; Christabel Jane Murunga with 365, Eugene Murunga Ambwere 78, Gregory Atoko 101, Kevin Borry Nectus 15, Wilberforce Lutta 87, Athman Wangara 200, Anzelimo Kongoti 36 and Samuel Munyekenye 324.

The by-election put to test the political might of ANC Musalia Mudavadi, ODM leader Raila Odinga and Deputy President William Ruto who is associated with the UDA party.

Voting in the Matungu parliamentary by-election kicked off smoothly amidst low voter turnout.

Voters who turned out early morning said the exercise was smooth, applauding the punctuality of the entire process.

Strict health guidelines were also adhered to as no one was allowed in without a mask.

Credit: Source link