It’s a crowded field as polls agency clears 12 for Kiagu ward by-election

The electoral agency has cleared a total of 12 candidates for the October 14 Kiagu Ward by-election in Meru County.

Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) Returning Officer Pamela Karimi handed the certificates to the aspirants for the seat declared vacant after the death of Eunice Karegi of Governor Alfred Mutua’s Maendeleo Chap Chap (MCC).

MCC has fronted Haron Kaburu in a bid to retain the seat, even as UDA associated with Deputy President William Ruto had Senator Mithika Linturi and Central Imenti MP Kirima Nguchine campaigning for its candidate Simon Kiambi.

Also cleared were Samson Magambo (Jubilee), Joseph Mwangi of Democratic Party, Milton Mwenda of Chama Cha Kazi, Patrick Kananda of Chama Cha Uzalendo and Joshua Nabea of Ford Kenya.

Scholastica Mwendwa (Party of Democratic Unity), Douglas Kirimi (Safina), Nathan Gitonga (National Ordinary People Empowerment Union-Nopeu)and Phillip Micheni (Peoples Party of Kenya).

Credit: Source link