President Kenyatta nominates 4 IEBC commissioners, forwards names for vetting

Juliana Wihonge Chirera, Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justice Abonyo Nyangaya are one step away from being appointed to serve as members of the Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission (IEBC).

This is after President Uhuru Kenyatta forwarded their names to the National Assembly for vetting, upon receiving the Report of the Selection Panel for the Appointment of Commissioners of the IEBC

The communication from the Head of State has, however, not been read to the House by speaker Justin Muturi, who is expected to forward the statement to the Justice and Legal Affairs Committee.

The committee chaired by Kangema MP Muturi Kigano is expected to expeditiously interview the nominees and present a report to Parliament for debate.

The four have been chosen among 36 Kenyans that were interviewed to fill the four positions vacant at IEBC.

The selection panel chaired by Elizabeth Muli forwarded the names to President Uhuru Kenyatta earlier this week, who has subsequently nominated them.

The four would be replacing Roselyn Akombe, Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat and former vice chair Consolata Maina who resigned from the commission.

Credit: Source link