Purge in Wiper Party? Muthama summoned

Former Machakos Senator Johnstone Muthama might just be the next man on the political chopping board.This is after the Wiper Democratic Movement Party accused Muthama of gross insubordination and now seeking to start disciplinary proceedings against him.

“Wiper Democratic Movement-Kenya has initiated disciplinary proceedings against former Machakos Senator Johnstone Muthama over alleged insubordination and defiance to the party’s ideologies,” read the letter in part.

The veteran legislator has now been given 14 days to respond to the charges leveled against him by the Party.

If found guilty by the Party’s disciplinary committee, the former Senator could be the next victim of political ‘fumigation that is rocking political parties in the country.

He could also face the ultimate price of being wiped out from the party that is currently bolstering ahead of the 2022 General Election.

Muthama has lately been seen making political moves that many say could be planning to wield the Kamba vote and assert himself as the alternative to the Eastern region politics.

The leader has been accused of dancing to a different tune, as the Party leader Kalonzo Musyoka, was making different political moves.

The turn of events comes just a week since Wiper Party got into a political pact with the ruling Party Jubilee, in a high stake meeting held on June 17, 2020.

“National Executive Council of the Wiper Democratic Movement-Kenya, meeting under the leadership of the party leader Kalonzo Musyoka, has today authorized Musyoka to seal a cooperation agreement with Jubilee and KANU with immediate effect,” said the party in a statement.

The deal between the two parties was penned at Jubilee Party headquarters in Pangani, Nairobi, after which leaders drawn from the two parties held a joint press conference.

In the attendance were Wiper Party leaders Kalonzo Musyoka, Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo Jr, former MP Chirau Mwakwere, and Judith Sijeny.

The Wiper Party National Executive Council (NEC) gave a nod to the deal that was entered upon by a unanimous agreement by the party members.

From the Jubilee side were Secretary-General Raphael Tuju and Vice-Chairman David Murathe. The group was also joined by Chama Cha Mashinani leader and former Bomet Governor Isaac Ruto who has lately been dallying with Jubilee.

Kalonzo said Wiper will however continue being a member of the dysfunctional National Super Alliance (NASA).

“This cooperation agreement does not breach our agreements under NASA,” he said.

NASA affiliate parties are Raila Odinga’s Orange Democratic Movement (ODM), Musalia Mudavadi’s Amani National Congress (ANC) and Ford Kenya of Bungoma Senator Moses Wetang’ula.

The Wiper leader announced that a National Delegates Conference would be convened to endorse the co-operation made public.

Contrarily, Muthama has been particularly critical in pushing for a coalition between the Wiper Party and other political players, whom the party leader was not keen on engaging in.

The self-proclaimed sponsor of the Wiper Party, has been pushing for a-Deputy President William Ruto alliance, ahead of the 2022 State House race.

He has recently been holed up in meetings with Makueni Governor Kivutha Kibwana, in a possible political formation. This coming after Kalonzo-Musyoka led party called it quits with Governor Kibwana’s Muungano Party.

Suffice to mention is that Governor Kibwana was in July last year ousted as the party chairperson and replaced by Chirau Ali Mwakwere.

The developments come as party purges continue in the country. The Jubilee Party has particularly been in thorough house cleaning activities to weed out members whom the party termed disloyal.

The recent casualty being Garissa Township Member of Parliament Aden Dwale who was replaced at the National Assembly Majority Leader position.
Before Dwale’s ouster, other legislators allied to the Deputy President William Ruto were also axed, as the political circus continues to gain momentum.

Senate leaders Kithure Kindiki (Deputy Speaker), Kipchumba Murkomen (Majority Leader), and Majority Whip Susan Kihika, were first ejected.

This was followed by the removal of National Assembly Majority Whip Ben Washiali and his deputy Cecily Mbarire and the removal from parliamentary committees of 21 MPs.

Credit: Source link