Ruto intensifies forays in Mt Kenya as he hosts over 200 MCAs from bloc

Deputy President William Ruto stepped up his forays for Mount Kenya voter bloc support after he hosted 270 Members of County Assembly (MCAs) from the region at his Karen residence.

The meeting comes days after he held a meeting with legislators from President Uhuru Kenyatta’s home county of Kiambu, in what is seen as an intensified effort to lock in the region’s support.

So far, Ruto enjoys support of leaders in the counties of Meru, Tharaka Nithi, Embu, Kirinyaga, Murang’a, Nyandarua, Kiambu, Nyeri, Laikipia and that of Nakuru in Rift Valley region.

Ruto said through his bottom-up economic model, millions of Kenyans at the base of the wealth pyramid will have their lives uplifted as he eradicates poverty in the country.

“By embracing the win-win philosophy, we stand to accommodate everyone and ensure they are empowered economically,” he said.

The Deputy President said leaders have a duty to work together to transform Kenya.

“Crucially, our politics must be anchored on issues and ideas rather than ethnicity and personalities,” he said.

The MCAs who included 40 out of 68 from Meru vowed to rally the region to have Ruto win over the electorates in the counties that for the last two elections have overwhelmingly voted for Uhuru and Ruto.

Konyu Ward MCA Eric Wamumbi said uniting the populous Mt Kenya region to support Ruto featured in the meeting.

“We wanted an understanding of the DP’s call for a bottom-up model and what it means for the region. We had MCAs from Embu, Meru, and Tharaka Nithi. They voiced their support for the DP. There is no room for doubt,” said Wamumbi.

Chinga MCA Kiruga Thuku added, “We are dedicated to marketing Ruto as Kenya’s president in 2022 because of his development record. We will not bow down to pressure neither will we be intimidated.”

According to Igoji East MCA John Kireria, the meeting also offered attendees the opportunity to engage with the DP on the country’s economic recovery agenda ahead of next year’s general elections.

“It was necessary for him to meet MCAs because we are the closest to the grassroots,” said Kireria.

The MCAs were accompanied by 12 MPs including George Kariuki (Ndia), Wangui Ngirici (Kirinyaga), Rigathi Gachagua (Mathira), Moses Kuria (Gatundu South), Alice Wahome (Kandara), Jayne Kihara (Naivasha), and Irungu Kang’ata (Murang’a) among others.

Credit: Source link