Ruto rejects move to change Jubilee Party’s top organ, terms it fraudulent

Deputy President William Ruto has rejected three names forwarded by the Jubilee Party to the powerful National Management Committee terming the move fraudulent.

He accused “shadowy characters” of attempting to fraudulently institute illegal changes in officials of Jubilee party while Kenyans were invested in the fight against the novel coronavirus.

A gazette notice dated April 6 asked all parties interested in challenging the process to reach out to the Registrar of Political Parties.

Taking to Twitter, DP Ruto said that he had already notified the Registrar of Political Parties of the fraud and the matter was being handled.

“As Kenyans are focused on the Covid-19 pandemic, some shadowy characters are attempting to FRAUDULENTLY institute ILLEGAL changes in officials of Jubilee party. As deputy leader I have alerted the registrar of the fraud. Party members should know that the matter is being handled,” He Tweeted.

The Jubilee party was set to replace Fatuma Shukri, Pamela Mutua and Veronica Maina with Lucy Nyawira Macharia, Prof Marete Marangu, Walter Nyambati, Jane Nampaso and James Waweru.

The committee  currently has 13 members who were appointed by the party leader, President Uhuru Kenyatta.

The members of the committee are in charge of managing the party on a daily basis and convenes frequently to deliberate and make urgent and pressing party decisions.

Leader of Majority in the Senate Kipchumba Murkomen on Friday termed the proposed changes as fraudulent saying he had already written to the registrar and would be reporting the matter to the DCI.

Several other legislators from Ruto’s camp wrote letters too, asking the Registrar of Political Parties to revoke the gazette notice.

They include among others; Nakuru Senator Susan Kihika, Kikuyu MP Kimani Ichung’wa, Soy MP Caleb Kositany, Langata MP Nixon Korir and Dagoretti MP John Kiarie.

Credit: Source link