Star-studded lineup for Boston Marathon

Olympic marathon champion Peres Jepchirchir will take part in this year’s Boston Marathon on April 18, organisers announced Wednesday.

The race reverts to its traditional April date after it was held in October last year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Jepchirchir told Newszetu that she is looking forward to participate in the race, adding that her preparations have started in earnest.

It will be her first race this year since her triumph in last year’s New York Marathon.

“I’m delighted to have been named as one of the participants of the 126th edition of Boston Marathon and I will be looking forward to a beautiful race. I always hear about the tough course and I will be there to run and have a feeling,” said Jepchirchir, who has a personal best of 2:17:16.

She revealed that 2021 was good year having also won gold in the marathon during the 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games ahead of her compatriot Brigid Kosgei.

“Despite challenges from the coronavirus pandemic that we witnessed last year, I managed to do well and my joy was to win a gold medal for my country which was a dream come true.

It’s another season and I have to work hard and achieve my goals,” added Jepchirchir, who trains in Kapsabet, Nandi County.

She will be up against London Marathon champion Joyciline Jepkosgei (2:17:43), 2017 Boston Marathon champion Edna Kiplagat (2:19:50) New York Marathon runner-up Maurine Chepkemoi (2:20:18), Viola Lagat (2:22:44), Purity Changwony (2:22:46), Mary Ngugi (2:25:20) and Monica Ngige (2:25:32).

Jepkosgei will be competing in her third major marathon race.

“I have taken enough rest and my training has started well and my target is to run well despite the stiff competition from my compatriots and other athletes especially from Ethiopia,” she said.

Monica Ngige, who was fourth during last year’s race and has been training in Nyahururu in Laikipia County, is looking for a podium finish.

“I have been doing ordinary training but next month I will get into serious marathon training and my target is to be in the podium after narrowly missing last year. The lineup looks tough but I believe in my training and I believe God will be able to help me achieve my target,” said Ngige.

Also in the start list is USA’s Des Linden, who bagged victory in the 2018 edition with a personal best of 2:22:38, Ethiopia’s Degitu Azimeraw (2:17:58), Roza Dereje (2:18:30), Zeineba Yimer (2:19:28) and Tigist Girma (2:19:52).

Boston Marathon Lineup

Peres Jepchirchir (KEN) 2:17:16
Joyciline Jepkosgei (KEN) 2:17:43
Degitu Azimeraw (ETH) 2:17:58
Roza Dereje (ETH) 2:18:30
Zeineba Yimer (ETH) 2:19:28
Edna Kiplagat (KEN) 2:19:50
Tigist Girma (ETH) 2:19:52
Maurine Chepkemoi (KEN) 2:20:18
Sara Hall (USA) 2:20:32
Desiree Linden (USA) 2:22:38
Viola Cheptoo (KEN) 2:22:44
Purity Changwony (KEN) 2:22:46
Charlotte Purdue (GBR) 2:23:26
Kellyn Taylor (USA) 2:24:28
Molly Seidel (USA) 2:24:42
Malindi Elmore (CAN) 2:24:50
Mary Ngugi (KEN) 2:25:20
Monicah Ngige (KEN) 2:25:32
Natasha Wodak (CAN) 2:26:19
Nell Rojas (USA) 2:27:12
Stephanie Bruce (USA) 2:27:47
Dakotah Lindwurm (USA) 2:29:04
Roberta Groner (USA) 2:29:09
Angie Orjuela (COL) 2:29:12
Bria Wetsch (USA) 2:29:50
Maegan Krifchin (USA) 2:30:17
Elaina Tabb (USA) 2:30:33
Lexie Thompson (USA) 2:30:37
Kate Landau (USA) 2:31:56

Credit: Source link