William Ruto sworn in as Kenya’s fifth President

William Ruto was on Tuesday, September 13 sworn into office as Kenya’s fifth president.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

At 12:45pm, Ruto took the oath of office, succeeding President Uhuru Kenyatta, who served between 2013 and 2022.

Chief Justice Martha Koome presided over the function held at the Moi International Sports Centre, Kasarani in Nairobi County.

“I William Samoei Ruto, in full realisation of the high calling, I assume as the President of the Republic of Kenya, do swear that I will be faithful and bear true allegiance to the Republic of Kenya; that I will obey, preserve, protect and defend this Constitution of Kenya as by law established and all other laws of the Republic, and that I will protect and uphold the sovereignty, integrity, and dignity of the people of Kenya, so help me God,” said Ruto during his swearing-in.

The president, thereafter, took the Oath of Due Execution of Office as President of the Republic of Kenya.

Chief Justice administers oath

Prior to that, Chief Justice Martha Koome formally set the stage for the oath-taking.

Koome said: “I have the honour and privilege to introduce the President-elect of the Republic of Kenya, His Excellency William Ruto to the nation.

“William Samoei Ruto was on the 15th of August, 2022 declared as the duly-elected President of the Republic of Kenya pursuant to the provisions of Articles, 136, 138(4) and 138 (10) (A) of the Constitution of Kenya in the August 9, 2022, presidential election.

“I, Martha Karambu Koome, Chief Justice of the Republic of Kenya, do hereby introduce to the people of Kenya the President-elect His Excellency Dr William Samoei Ruto to take his place on the inauguration dais.”

Credit: Source link