Four new IEBC commissioners take oath of office

Four new Commissioners of the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC) have been sworn into office a day after their appointment by President Uhuru Kenyatta.

Juliana Whonge Cherera, Francis Mathenge Wanderi, Irene Cherop Masit and Justus Abonyo Nyang’ay were sworn-in by Chief Justice Martha Koome at the Supreme Court building on Thursday.

The four, who are set to hold office for the next years, will be replacing Vice Chairperson Consolata Nkatha, commissioners Margaret Mwachanya, Paul Kurgat and Roselyn Akombe, who resigned during the last election period.

Earlier the High Court dismissed a petition seeking to block the swearing in of the four new commissioners.

A petitioner, Nornael Okello, wanted the oathing stopped arguing that the nomination and appointment of one of the nominees, Ms, Irene Masiit contravened Article 88(2) (a) of the Constitution since she had presented herself for elections in the last General Election.

Justice Weldon Korir, in a brief ruling on Thursday, noted that the country is heading towards elections and any further delay in swearing-in of the commissioners posed danger for Kenyans.

“It’s in public interest that the conservatory orders should not be granted,” the judge noted.

Prior to the appointment of the four, the electoral body had only two commissioners; Boya Molu, Abdi Yakub Goliye and Chairman Wafula Chebukati.

Credit: Source link