Yusra Butt claims Lady Captain’s Prize at Muthaiga

Handicap 22 Yusra Butt fought off a strong challenge from Rosemary Mkok and junior golfer Bianca Ngecu to claim the overall title in the Lady Captain’s (Rose Kithu) Prize at the par 71 Muthaiga course at the weekend.

She posted an impressive 40 points during the event, whose afternoon round had to be stopped for more than half an hour because of heavy downpour.

She beat both Mkok and the handicap 18 Ngecu on countback, with the former claiming the A division title after pushing the youngster Ngecu into second place.

In addition to taking home the Ping Golf Bag, Butt also earned a return air ticket to Malindi courtesy of Skyward, and two nights for two at Bahari Beach Hotel in Mombasa among other prizes.

Christina Andersen, who was just a point behind, clinched the third prize with 39 points.

In the B division, Mukami Wangai posted 39 points to win on countback from Milka Itote, while Grace Gakira was third on 38 points.

Maryn Ombisi won the C division with 37 points, winning well ahead of Ngina Kairu and Dorcas Njoroge on 31 and 30 points.

Olive Njagi emerged the best past lady captain with 38 points. She was followed in second place by Rose Koome on 36 points.

Taking the first prize among the men was Kenneth Gathemba, who fired 41 points to win ahead of Jitain Shah on 40 and Ian Wamaara who posted 39 points.

In the sponsors category, the ladies winner was Mary Wambugu on 28, followed by Catherine Mburugu on 25, while the men sponsor winner was Abdullahi Mohamed on 37, one better than Joseph Kagigite, while Patricia Gichuru emerged the best lady guest on 38 points, two better than Purity Muthoni.

Leading the junior girls was Sarah Mkok on 38 and Tanish Gudka was the boys’ junior winner with 31 points.

Speaking during the colourful prize giving ceremony of the event sponsored by ABSA, Kenya Airports Authority, United Bank of Africa, Skyward Express, NCBA Bank, Kenya Pipeline and Tropikal Brands, outgoing lady captain Rose Kithu thanked all the sponsors who supported her events during the year.

“I am extremely grateful for the support I received from the ladies section as well as the general membership of Muthaiga and all the sponsors who stood with me throughout the year,” said Kithu.

At Sigona Golf Club, Haren Patel, playing off handicap 11, clinched the 16th edition of the annual Prime Bank Diwali competition.

Patel posted an impressive score of 42 points to win by one point from men winner Parelkh Shah, who had carded 41 points.

Finishing second in the men section in the event, which attracted a field of 290 players, was Ramesh Patel with a score of 39 points, one better than Roy Njau.

In the ladies section, Archana Patel posted 40 points to emerge the winner, with Shaneil Haria claiming the junior title with 37 points, as Shivam Shah clinched the gross title on 75 gross.

Leading the guests was Joyce Wafula on 37 points, winning well ahead of Vivek Pajpayee on 32, with Dipak Shah and Nitin Shah winning the nines on 22 and 21 points.

Prime Bank’s Chief Operations Officer A. R. Jagannathan announced that the Bank would continue to sponsor the tournament next year.

At Vet Lab Sports, the team of Henry Kaamuti (37), Deep Shah (39), Joseph Karanja (39) and Chirag Shah (34) posted a total of 115 points to claim the first slot in the first leg of the Johnnie Walker Classic Golf Series.

They won by two points from the team of Priscilla Karobia, Rachel Ndei, Cleophas Bor, and Mark Karobia.

Claiming the third slot was the Onesmus Kibunam, Caroline Muguku, Philip Gow and Anik Patel with a total of 108 points.

In the subsidiary, Michael Kinuthia returned an impressive score of 40 points to win on countback from Charles Gichobi, with Priscilla Karobia emerging the lady winner on 41 points, followed in second place by Caroline Muguku on 38 points.

The nines went to Innocent Nyakwara and Aleem Manji on 21 and 22 points.

The following are summarised results of the weekend Golf round-up;

At Nanyuki: Chairman’s Prize- Overall winner- Gabriel Miungi- 41 pts, Men Winner- Kelvin Kabugi 39, Joseph Wainaina 36, Samuel Gichuru 34, Lady winner- Rose Kpomu 32, Lucy Njuguna 30, Nines- William Njorpoge 21. Stephen Wambugu 20, Gross- Peter Rimui 32, Batuk Winner- Dipesh Gurung 35 pts.

At Nyahururu Sports Club; Kapematt Capital Golf Day; Overall winner- Martin Maina 42 pts, Men winner- Wachira Mukaburu 38, Zachariah Macharia 36, Lady winner- Susan Hiuko 37,  Njoki Mureithi 32, Caroline Wambaria 29, Guest winner- George Mbichire 38, Nines; Simon Ngugi 20, Samwel Mwangi 19.

At Nyali; November Mug and Medal; A Div- Dahir Awdeer 68 nett, Qamber Somji 72, B-Div- Sanjay Kotecha 68 nett, Mahboob Virji 70, Hanif Walji 73, C-Div- Ally Is-Haq 67 nett, David Odada 70, Inayet Kudrati 71. D-Div- PM Maina 74, Gross Dahir Awdeer 75. Ladies Medal- A Div- Betty Bundotich 73 nett, Lena Breitner 79, Heather Clarke 82. B-Div- Gisele Dhanji 79, Annemarie De-Jong 80, Perviz Barnsley 81. C-Div Tabitha Abed 71 nett.

Credit: Source link